

OFFICIAL MINUTES WEDNESDAY, JUNE 14, 2017 | 8:30 A.M. SUSTAINABILITY CONFERENCE ROOM | CITY HALL

A meeting of the Nominating Board for the City of Orlando was held on Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 8:30 a.m. at City Hall, 400 South Orange Avenue, Orlando, Florida 32801.

Members Present:

Janet Pesquera, Vice Chairman [8/1] Matthew Alexander [9/0] Lyndon Carter [8/1] Kimberly Holdridge [9/0] Margaret Lezcano [9/0] Krystle Nguyen [9/0] Christina Redman [1/0] Abdullah Tharoo [8/1]

DRAFT

Members Absent:

Alexis Jackson [0/1]

Others Present:

Denise Aldridge, City Clerk Stephanie Herdocia, Board Coordinator Laurie Nossair, Deputy City Clerk Carmen Feliciano, Chapter 57 Review Board Edward Peterson, Board of Zoning Adjustment Gwendolyn Wiggins, Chapter 57 Review Board

I. CALL TO ORDER

Janet Pesquera, Vice Chairman, determined a quorum was present and called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m.

Ms. Pesquera acknowledged Matthew Alexander in his last Board meeting and thanked Mr. Alexander for his service to the Board.

Ms. Pesquera introduced Christina Redman as the newly appointed Nominating Board member.

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of the Minutes from May 10, 2017

Kimberly Holdridge moved to accept the minutes of the May 10, 2017, meeting as presented and Lyndon Carter seconded the motion. The Nominating Board voted to approve the motion unanimously 8-0.

Approval of the Minutes from May 24, 2017

Kimberly Holdridge moved to accept the minutes of the May 24, 2017, meeting as presented and Lyndon Carter seconded the motion. The Nominating Board voted to approve the motion unanimously 8-0.

1. **<u>PUBLIC COMMENTS</u>**

Board of Zoning Adjustment

Edward Petersen, Recording Secretary for the Board of Zoning Adjustment provided the Board with information on the responsibilities of Board of Zoning Adjustment board members. Mr. Peterson explained details regarding case work, meeting duration, and applicant experience.

Chapter 57 Review Board

Gwendolyn Wiggins, Human Relations Supervisor, and Carmen Felicano, Human Relations Specialist/Recording Secretary, provided the Board with the various agencies and governmental requirements associated with the Chapter 57 Review Board. Ms. Wiggins explained the role of the board including their role as an appeal board for Minority/Women Business Enterprise.

IV. **RESIGNATIONS**

Code Enforcement Board (AT)

7 Members / Term Length: 3 Years / Term Limit: 2 Terms 1. Juanita Riley, TE 09/30/18

The Nominating Board discussed this appointment and deferred to the next regularly scheduled meeting.

Downtown Development Board (ML)

5 Members / Term Length: 3 Years / Term Limit: 2 Terms 1. Jessica Burns, TE 06/30/19

The Nominating Board discussed this appointment and deferred to the next regularly scheduled meeting.

Mennello Museum Board of Trustees (AJ)

9 Members / Term Length: 2 Years / Term Limit: 2 Terms 1. Usha Tewari, TE 01/31/19

The Nominating Board discussed this appointment and deferred to the next regularly scheduled meeting.

V. <u>JUNE EXPIRATIONS</u> Chapter 57 Review Board (JP)

7 Members | Term Length: 2 Years | Term Limit: 2 Terms

- 1. Louis Preston Jr., two full terms
- 2. Ginger Malcom, two full terms

The Nominating Board discussed this appointment and deferred to the next regularly scheduled meeting.

VI. JULY EXPIRATIONS Board of Zoning Adjustment (ML)

9 Members | Term Length: 2 Years | Term Limit: 2 Terms

- 1. William Wilson, less than two terms
- 2. Avery Donaudy, two full terms
- 3. Byron Lastrapes, two full terms
- 4. Elena Pathak, two full terms
- 5. Steven Heller, less than one term

Lyndon Carter moved to recommend to Mayor Dyer the reappointment of William Wilson*, District 4, for a term ending July 31, 2019 and Steve Heller*, District 4, for a term ending July 31, 2019 to the Board of Zoning Adjustment and Matthew Alexander seconded the motion. The Nominating Board voted 8-0 to approve the motion.

Lyndon Carter moved to recommend to Mayor Dyer the appointment of the following slate of three (3) candidates to the Board of Zoning Adjustment for a term ending July 31, 2019:

- 1. Recommending the appointment of Scott Lloyd*, District 4, to replace Avery Donaudy*, District 3. Alternate name for consideration is Phillip Tischer*, District 1.
- Recommending the appointment of Brian Pieters*, District 3, to replace Byron Lastrapes*, District 4. Alternate name for consideration is Danielle Price*, District 6.
- 3. Recommending the appointment of Dawn Evans Hall*, District 3, to replace Elena Pathak*, District 3. Alternate name for consideration is Phillip Tischer*, District 1.

Abdullah Tharoo seconded the motion. The Nominating Board voted 8-0 to approve the motion.

VII. <u>AUGUST EXPIRATIONS</u> Audit Board (CR)

5 Members / Term Length: 2 Years / Term Limit: 2 Terms

- 1. Brendan Blais, two full terms
- 2. Robert Campbell, two full terms
- 3. May Wong, less than one term

The Nominating Board discussed this appointment and deferred to the next regularly scheduled meeting.

VIII. OTHER BUSINESS

Old Business / General Discussion

1. Marketing Ideas | Community Events

Working Together Coalition/Trabajando Juntos, Inc. – Thursday, June 29, 2017 11:30 a.m. The opportunity to present City Board information to the Working Together Coalition was discussed amongst the Board.

Muslim Congregation – Friday, June 16, 2017 1:30 p.m. The opportunity to attend the event was discussed amongst the Board.

Janet Pesquera, Vice Chairman, thanked everyone for their work on Boards and Brews held on May 10, 2017. Lyndon Carter thanked Sarah Kelly, Stephanie Herdocia and Denise Aldridge for their work on the event. Denise Aldridge, City Clerk, provided information regarding the event which included: attendee details, e-mail notification data, and sponsorships.

Matt Alexander advised the Board to continue working on alternating term dates and requested that telephone call-in procedures be developed for Boards.

Chairman's Report

1. Janet Pesquera, Vice Chairman, explained annual elections for Chairman and Vice-Chairman occur at the first regular board meeting after the board's term expiration month each year. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman are elected from among the Nominating Board, and shall serve a term of one year. Preference is giving to those members who have had a minimum of one year's service on the board. The newly elected Chairman and Vice Chairman shall take office the meeting following their election in July and will remain with the assigned Boards announced at the May meeting.

Janet Pesquera moved to nominate Margaret Lezcano as Chairman and Krystle Nguyen seconded the motion. The Nominating Board voted 8-0 to approve the motion.

Janet Pesquera moved to nominate Abdullah Tharoo as Vice Chairman and Lyndon Carter seconded the motion. The Nominating Board voted 8-0 to approve the motion.

City Clerk's Report

1. Denise Aldridge, City Clerk, provided the Board with the appointments confirmed at the May 15, 2017 and June 5, 2017 Council Meeting. Ms. Aldridge reported Jason Hopkins, a member of the Citizens' Police Review Board, had submitted a resignation to the City Clerk's Office. The vacancy for Mr. Hopkins position will be placed on the July Agenda.

Ms. Aldridge also provided the Board with Florida State Statute, Section 104.31 and Section 808.18 of the Policies and Procedures Manual in regards to participation in political campaigns.

Ms. Aldridge thanked Matthew Alexander for his service to the Nominating Board.

Secretary's Report

1. Stephanie Herdocia, Board Coordinator, presented and discussed the Board demographics. Ms. Herdocia advised the issues with the Granicus application system have been resolved.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, Janet Pesquera, Vice Chairman, declared the meeting adjourned at 10:16 a.m.

Next Meeting: Wednesday, July 12, 2017, 8:30 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Margaret Lezcano Chairman Stephanie Herdocia Board Coordinator