- WHEREAS, June 12, 2016, was the most tragic day in the history of the Orlando community and each successive June

  12 will forever be reserved to honor the memory of the 49 innocent lives taken too soon from us, as well as those harmed that morning at the Pulse nightclub; and
- **WHEREAS,** the tragedy deeply impacted our LGBTQ+, Latinx and other communities of color, as well as countless Central Floridians, families, friends and advocates worldwide; and
- **WHEREAS,** in the hours, days, weeks and months following the tragedy, our community united in solidarity to stand with the heartbroken families and loved ones, and came out in great numbers to support the injured and affected; and
- WHEREAS, we will always remember that Orlando responded to hate with an unprecedented display of love and unity, and we will always be remembered as a community that confronted tragedy with the best that humanity has to offer; and
- WHEREAS, in response, we did not stand alone during our darkest days, but instead, we inspired not just our neighbors, but also friends from across the globe to stand with us and our community by becoming Orlando United, showing the world that love can defeat hate; and
- *WHEREAS,* June 12 will be officially dedicated to honoring the memory of the 49 innocent victims, to supporting the survivors, to comforting the grieving and to recognizing the compassion and love that was displayed by the Central Florida community following the tragedy;

**NOW, THEREFORE, WE,** City of Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer and Orange County Mayor Teresa Jacobs, do hereby proclaim from this day forward that June 12 will be

## "Orlando United Day - A Day of Love and Kindness"

in the City of Orlando and Orange County, Florida, and do hereby call upon all citizens to reflect on the 49 lives lost and honor them by treating all people with respect, love and kindness.

ORLANDO

The Honorable Buddy Dyer	The Honorable Teresa Jacobs
Commissioner Jim Gray, District 1	Commissioner Betsy VanderLey, District 1
Commissioner Tony Ortiz, District 2	Commissioner Bryan Nelson, District 2
Commissioner Robert F. Stuart, District 3	Commissioner Pete Clarke, District 3
Commissioner Patty Sheehan, District 4	Commissioner Jennifer Thompson, District 4
Commissioner Regina I. Hill, District 5	Commissioner Emily Bonilla, District 5
Commissioner Samuel B. Ings, District 6	Commissioner Victoria P. Siplin, District 6