Nominating Board Official Minutes Wednesday, October 14, 2015 | 8:30 a.m. City Hall | Second Floor | Sustainability Room

Members Present:

Sarah Kelly, Chairman Matthew Alexander Denise Hammond Kimberly Holdridge Janet Pesquera Abdullah Tharoo

Members Absent:

Deloris Batson Molly Delahunty Earnest DeLoach, Vice-Chairman

Others Present:

Celeste Brown, City Clerk Kyle Reynolds, Board Secretary Doug Head, Member of the Public

CALL TO ORDER

١.

Sarah Kelly, Chairman, determined a quorum and called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of the Minutes from September 9, 2015

Motion was made to approve the minutes from the September 9, 2015 meeting as written. Motion was made by Kimberly Holdridge and Denise Hammond. The Motion Approved. 6-0. Ayes: Alexander, Hammond, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach

III. PUBLIC COMMENTS

Doug Head spoke in regards to the Public Art Advisory Board and its power. Mr. Head also spoke on the Code Enforcement Board and the Public Comment section on their agenda.

IV. JULY EXPIRATIONS

Board of Zoning Adjustment (ED)

9 Members | Term Length: 2 years | Term Limits: 2 Terms 1. William Wilson, one full term

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the reappointment of William Wilson*, District 4, to the Board of Zoning Adjustment for a term ending July 31, 2017. Motion was made by Denise Hammond and Janet Pesquera. The Motion Approved. 6-0. Ayes: Alexander, Hammond, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: DeLoach, Delahunty, Batson

V. SEPTEMBER EXPIRATIONS

Code Enforcement Board (DB)

7 Members | Term Length: 3 Years | Term Limits: 2 Terms 1. Thomas Golay, served two full terms

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. Deferred to next meeting.

Families, Parks & Recreation Board (MD)

9 Members | Term Length: 2 Years | Term Limits: 2 Terms

1. Luis Ortiz, less than one full term

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the reappointment of Luis Ortiz*, District 1, to the Families, Parks & Recreation Board for a term ending September 30, 2017. Motion was made by Denise Hammond and Kimberly Holdridge. The Motion Approved. 6-0. Ayes: Alexander, Hammond, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo Absent: Delahunty, DeLoach, Batson

VI. OCTOBER EXPIRATIONS

Citizens' Police Review Board (ED)

9 Members | Term Length: 2 Years | Term Limits: 3Terms

- 1. Karen Climer, three full terms
- 2. Richard Crabtree, one full term
- 3. Eric Jackson, one full term
- 4. Beverly Jackson, one full term
- 5. Henry Lim, one full term
- 6. Brendan Loflin, less than one full term

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. Deferred to next meeting.

Historic Preservation Board (MD)

9 Members | Term Length: 2 Years | Term Limits: 3 Terms

1. Michael Arrington, one full term

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the reappointment of Michael Arrington** to the Historic Preservation Board for a term ending October 31, 2017. Motion was made by Sarah Kelly and Denise Hammond. The Motion Approved. 6-0. Ayes: Alexander, Hammond, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo Absent: DeLoach, Delahunty, Batson

Downtown South Neighborhood Improvement District Advisory Council (ED)

5 Members | Term Length: 2 Years | Term Limits: 2 Terms

- 1. Shannon Gravitte, two full terms
- 2. Rex McPherson, two full terms
- 3. Jonathan Toothman, two full terms

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. Deferred to next meeting.

VII. DECEMBER EXPIRATIONS

Appearance Review Board (KH)

7 Members | Term Length: 2 Years | Term Limits: 2 Terms

1. Michael Beale, two full terms

2. Timothy Lemons, two full terms

3. Justin Ramb, less than one full term

4. Kazuko (Daisy) Staniszkis, two full terms

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. Deferred to next meeting.

Civil Service Board (DH)

5 Members | Term Length: 3 Years | Term Limit: 2 Terms

1. Peter Scott, one full term

2. Jeffrey Sirolly, one full term

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the reappointments of Peter Scott** and Jeffrey Sirolly*, District 3, to the Civil Service Board for terms ending December 31, 2018. Motion was made by Denise Hammond and Kimberly Holdridge. The Motion Passed. 6-0. Ayes: Alexander, Hammond, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo Absent: DeLoach, Batson, Delahunty.

VIII. RESIGNATIONS

Affordable Housing Advisory Committee (DH)

11 Members | Term Length: 2 Years | Term Limits: 2 Terms 1. Jack Plettinck, TE 03/31/17

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. Deferred to next meeting.

Orlando Utilities Commission (SK)

5 Members | Term Length: 4 Years | Term Limit: 2 Terms 1. Arlen Maylen Dominguez, TE 12/31/15

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. Deferred to next meeting.

Mennello Museum Board of Trustees (KH)

9 Members | Term Length: 2 Years | Term Limits: 2 Terms 1. Fielding Featherston, TE 01/31/16

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the appointment of Ricardo Vescovacci** to the Mennello Museum Board of Trustees for a term ending January 31, 2016. Alternate name for consideration is Misael Lugo*, District 4. This appointment shall replace Fielding Featherston who resigned. Motion was made by Kimberly Holdridge and Abdullah Tharoo. The Motion Approved. 6-0. Ayes: Alexander, Hammond, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo Absent: Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach.

OBT Development Board (MA)

3 Members | Term Length: 4 Years | Term Limits: 2 Terms

1. Andrea Perez, TE 01/14/17

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the appointment of Tangia Hill-Smikle*, District 5, to the OBT Development Board for a term ending January 14, 2017. Alternate name for consideration is Alex Gill*, District 5. This

appointment shall replace Fielding Featherston who resigned. Motion was made by Matthew Alexander and Abdullah Tharoo. The Motion Approved. 6-0. Ayes: Alexander, Hammond, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo Absent: DeLoach, Batson, Delahunty

Board of Zoning Adjustment (ED)

9 Members | Term Length: 2 years | Term Limits: 2 Terms 1. Stephan "Grif" Ariko, TE 07/31/16

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. Deferred to next meeting.

IX. OTHER BUSINESS

Old Business None.

New Business

None.

Chairman's Report

Sarah Kelly, Chairman, discussed the importance of contacting new applicants. Ms. Kelly also mentioned that after

the election, the Nominating Board should attend another outreach event before the end of the year.

City Clerk's Report

Celeste Brown, City Clerk, answered specific questions about the telephone attendance policy which was adopted in the September 2015 meeting.

Board Secretary's Report

1. Board Demographics

Kyle Reynolds, Board Coordinator, presented the demographics for each board and the boards as a whole.

General Discussion

Denise Hammond announced her resignation from the board due to an increased obligations and scheduling conflicts.

X. ADJOURNMENT

Next meeting: Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - Veterans Day - 8:30 a.m. | Sustainability Conference Room | City Hall, 2nd Floor

There being no further business to discuss, motion to adjourn was made by Matt Alexander. The motion was seconded by Kimberly Holdridge. The motion adjourned the meeting at 9:07 a.m.

ALL SIGNATURES ON FILE WITH CITY CLERK

Sarah Kelly, Chairman Nominating Board Kyle Reynolds, Recording Secretary