NOMINATING BOARD

Official Minutes

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 | 8:30 a.m. City Hall, Second Floor, Sustainability Room

Members Present:

- Sarah Kelly, Chairman
- Earnest DeLoach, Vice-Chairman
- Matthew Alexander
- Deloris Batson
- Molly Delahunty
- Kimberly Holdridge
- Janet Pesquera
- Abdullah Tharoo

Members Absent:

Denise Hammond

Others Present:

- Celeste Brown, City Clerk
- Kyle Reynolds, Recording Secretary

I. CALL TO ORDER

Sarah Kelly, Chairman determined a quorum and called the meeting to order at 8:47 a.m.

II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Approval of the Minutes from April 8, 2015

Motion was made by Kimberly Holdridge and Deloris Batson. The Motion Accepted meeting minutes. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

III. PUBLIC COMMENTS

IV. JANUARY EXPIRATIONS

Orlando Housing Authority (DB)

Vicki Brooks, served three full terms

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the appointment of Jacinta Mathis*, District 3, to the Orlando Housing Authority for a term ending January 31, 2019. Alternate names for consideration: Mike Sheils*, District 4, and Margaret Lezcano*, District 4. This appointment will replace Vicki Brooks** who served three full terms.

Motion was made by Deloris Batson and Earnest DeLoach. The Motion Passed. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

V. MARCH EXPIRATIONS

Affordable Housing Advisory Committee (DH)

Michael Resnick, two full terms Linavette Rodriguez, one full term

Denise Hammond was not present to discuss these vacancies. This item was tabled for the next meeting.

Public Art Advisory Board (AT)

Victoria Cerrone, term expired

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. This item was tabled for the next meeting.

VI. MAY EXPIRATIONS

Certification Board (AT)

Mi Hoshino, less than one full term Chris Carmody, term expired

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the appointment of Kahlid Muneer**, to the Certification Board for a term ending May 31, 2017. Alternate names for consideration: Liana Leal*, District 1. This appointment will replace Chris Carmody*, District 3, who served one full term and was terminated due to attendance.

Motion was made by Abdullah Tharoo and Deloris Batson. The Motion Passed. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

Motion was made to recommend the reappointment of Mi Hoshino*, District 4, to the Certification Board for a term ending May 31, 2017.

Motion was made by Abdullah Tharoo and Kimberly Holdridge. The Motion Passed. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

VII. JUNE EXPIRATIONS

Downtown Development Board (SK)

Wendy Connor, served one full term

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the reappointment of Wendy Connor** to the Downtown Development Board for term ending June 30, 2017.

Motion was made by Sarah Kelly and Earnest DeLoach. The Motion Adopted. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

Chapter 57 Review Board (AT)

Bassem Chaban, one full term Ginger Malcom, one full term Louis Preston, Jr, one full term

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the reappointment of Louis Preston** to the Chapter 57 Review Board for a term ending June 30, 2017.

Motion was made by Abdullah Tharoo and Janet Pesquera. The Motion Passed. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the reappointment of Ginger Malcom*, District 3, to the Chapter 57 Review Board for a term ending June 30, 2017.

Motion was made by Abdullah Tharoo and Molly Delahunty. The Motion Passed. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

VIII. JULY EXPIRATIONS

Board of Zoning Adjustments (SK)

Avery Donaudy, less than two full terms
Robert High, one full term
Byron Lastrapes, one full term
Elena Pathak, one full term
William Wilson, one full term

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. This item was tabled for the next meeting.

Municipal Planning Board (SK)

Karen Anderson, less than two full terms
Tatiana Schermerhorn, less than one full term
Jason Searl, two full terms
Scott Skidelsky, two full terms
Jennifer Tobin, two full terms

The Nominating Board was not prepared to discuss these vacancies. This item was tabled for the next meeting.

IX. **RESIGNATIONS**

Affordable Housing Advisory Committee (DH)

Jennifer Bryla, TE 03/31/17

Denise Hammond was not present to discuss these members of the board. This item was tabled for the next meeting.

Citizens' Police Review Board (ED)

Carla Fantozzi, TE 10/31/15

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the appointment of Robert Gambino*, District 5, to the Citizens' Police Review Board for a term ending October 31, 2016. This appointment will replace Carla Fantozzi*, District 4, who resigned. Alternate name for consideration is Robert Fornier*, District 4.

Motion was made by Earnest DeLoach and Matthew Alexander. The Motion Passed. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

Families, Parks & Recreation (MD)

Wendy Mathisen, TE 09/30/16 Gary Hasson, TE 09/30/15

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the appointment of Kevin Dunleavy*, District 3, to the Families, Parks & Recreation Board for a term ending September 30, 2016. This appointment will replace Wendy Mathisen*, District 3, who resigned. Alternate name for consideration is Luis Ortiz*, District 1.

Motion was made by Molly Delahunty and Kimberly Holdridge. The Motion Passed. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

Historic Preservation Board (MD)

Margaret Brock, TE 10/31/16

Motion was made to recommend to Mayor Dyer the appointment of Mackenzie Arnold*, District 4, to the Historic Preservation Board for a term ending October 31, 2016. This appointment will replace Margaret Brock*, District 4, who resigned. Alternate name for consideration is Clinton Salter*, District 5.

Motion was made by Molly Delahunty and Kimberly Holdridge. The Motion Passed. 8-0. Ayes: Alexander, Batson, Delahunty, DeLoach, Holdridge, Kelly, Pesquera, Tharoo. Absent: Hammond.

X. OTHER BUSINESS

Chairman's Report

Sarah Kelly, Chairman, stressed the importance of contacting the applicants prior to making appointments.

Motion was made by Sarah Kelly to create a policy for attendance for the Nominating Board stating No more than two members of the Nominating Board per meeting may attend via Conference call. Attendance via Conference Call will count against a quorum but not against attendance. The motion was withdrawn. Kimberly Holdridge was assigned the task of creating language for the policy and bringing the policy back to the board at the next meeting for a vote.

City Clerk's Report

None.

Board Secretary Report

Kyle Reynolds presented the current board demographics as well as the District representation across all City Boards. He then asked the members to ensure that the attendance policy is stressed when speaking to applicants. No other business was discussed.

General Discussion

XI. ADJOURNMENT

Next Meeting Wednesday, June 10, 2015 at 8:30 a.m.

There being no further business to discuss, the Chairman declared the meeting adjourned at 10:05 a.m.



Sarah Kelly, Chairman Nominating Board

Respectfully Submitted and Filed,

Kyle D. Reynolds Recording Secretary City of Orlando